Possible Suckage, I love you!

P.S. I Love You (2007)

P.S. I Love You (2007)

P.S. I Love You (2007): 1/5

I walked into the theater without knowing anything about this movie, except for what I picked up from seeing the trailer a few months back -which is close to absolutely nothing. But around twenty to thirty minutes into the movie I was almost sure of one thing- hey, I think i’m gonna hate this film. Supposedly a certified tearjerker, P.S. I Love You veers away from the typical rom-com genre and tackles the loss of one’s spouse and the difficulty of moving on and loving again , . yada yada yada. Though I hear the novel’s a great read, its adaptation was just cinematically awkward. Scenes stick out without apparent purpose and the characters and actors seem to be coming from different films (i.e., a very Phoebe Buffay-like Lisa Kudrow, a Maggie Fitzgerald-ish Hilary Swank, etc.)

So 30 minutes turned into an hour , then an hour turned into an hour and a half- and for what? With the exception of a few beautifully filmed scenes of Ireland’s countryside, this film almost has no redeeming qualities. Come to think of it, the main premise is already downright creepy- that a man dictates his wife’s life after his death. It’s not about me not liking the chick flick sub genre, hey there are a number of such films I actually DO like, but this one falls into the pile of unnecessary and nose crinkle-worthy. Plus, Harry Connick Jr’s character Daniel couldn’t be more irritating.

P.S. I want a refund

Leave a Reply

