The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

royaltenenbaums I guess it’s the same reason people are drawn to egotism; with a movie seemingly so absorbed in itself, it’s hard not to fall in love with it. But taking this movie apart, assessing and reassessing every technique used is now futile and irrelevant as it is far less important than seeing it whole. A Tenenbaum-esque frame of mind has come over me, with hints of Margot, a subtle Chas rage, and a whole lotta Richie to top it all off.

No, I don’t associate with the dysfunction- it’s just that movies like this make me feel glad that movies exist (haha, still Kael’s essay). In the darkness at the movies, nothing is asked of us and we are left alone, it’s the liberation from duty. And that’s one comforting thought I can live with. So let’s shag ass!

2 responses to “The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

  • Josh

    Yo!

    I can’t get into Wes Anderson. I suppose Rushmore is my fave of his. Bottle Rocket has some charm. Steve Zisso is unwatchable. Haven’t seen his newest and Tenebaums I forget the details of what happened in this movie, so I must of not liked it. I think you hit it on the head, these films are just full of themselves, especially with their wit. The films I like I can generally chill out to, and I can’t do that with Anderson’s aesthetics.

    Nice Blog
    Josh (cinemasounds user on youtube)

    • dansiella

      To each his own, I guess. Haven’t seen Rushmore , will have to look it up. So far Darjeeling Limited is my favorite of his.,it wasn’t as self-absorbed as Tenenbaums was but i agree with you about movies that are full of themselves and speaking of which , have you seen Juno ,ha haha
      thanks for reading my blog! I enjoy your channel on youtube!

Leave a Reply

